Nyantakyi’s ‘Sympathy Tears’ Fail At Ejisu

  • Cynthia Morrison Loses Agona West

Former Ghana Football Association (GFA) President, Kwesi Nyantakyi’s last minute sympathy tears before delegates and television cameras over last Saturday’s New Patriotic Party (NPP) parliamentary primary at Ejisu Constituency in the Ashanti Region, could not secure him victory.

Mr Nyantakyi, who was among the nine aspirants strangely broke down in tears, while narrating to the delegates how he ended up at the hospital on the eve of the election.

In a video shared by GHOne TV, the former GFA boss, could not continue his talk and had to be consoled and moved away from the scene.

But despite the tears, which some considered as emotional gimmick for sympathy, Mr Nyantakyi, was still heavily defeated and managed to secure only 35 out of a total of 1080 votes cast.

He succumbed to a private legal practitioner, Kwabena Boateng, who emerged victorious in a tight race with 394 votes, outshining his competitors.

Stomach Pain

Interestingly, ahead of the much-anticipated contest, the former President of the GFA, Kwesi Nyantakyi, took ill and was hospitalized.

Reports said, a source from his campaign team confirmed that Mr Nyantakyi, who is also a lawyer suffered stomach pain on Friday night and was taken to the hospital for treatment.

According to the source, ‘’Mr Nyantakyi’s illness, may have been caused by not eating all day, as he had a busy schedule ahead of Saturday’s polls, including a planned meeting with delegates.”

He was taken to the Legacy Hospital at Asokore Mampong for treatment, where he has been since Friday evening.

Danquah Smith Buttey, National First Vice Chairman of the NPP and Bernard Antwi Boasiako popularly called Chairman Wontumi, Ashanti Regional NPP Chairman, visited Kwesi Nyantakyi at the hospital.

He was, however, discharged before close of the process on Saturday and so made his way to the polling station.

In a picture sighted by The Anchor, Mr Nyantakyi, was spotted with some members of his team with what looks like a plaster on his hand.

Other Contenders

The other contenders were; Dr Evans Duah, Klinsman Karikari Mensah, Helena Mensah, Jacqueline Abena Pokua Amoah-Boaitey, Portia Baffoe Abronye, Aaron Prince Duah and Yaa Gyamera Aboagye.

His closest competitor, Madam Helena Mensah, had 302 votes. Meanwhile, Yaa Gyamera Aboagye, got 229 votes and Mr Kwesi Nyantakyi, had only 35 of the votes cast.

Dr Evans Duah, garnered only 63 votes, while lawyer and wife of the Bono Regional chairman of the NPP, Kwame Baffoe Abronye, Portia Mensah Abronye managed only 6 votes. Abena Pokua, who is speculated to be non-delegate got nothing for her effort.

Lawyer Boateng, was a onetime second Vice Chairman of the party in Ejisu constituency. He will represent the NPP in a yet to be held by-election.

That election became necessary after the sitting MP and a Deputy Finance Minister, John Kumah, who was going into the December 2024 election unopposed, suddenly died on March 7, aged 45.

Addressing the media, Mr Boateng, thanked the delegates for trusting and choosing him as the NPP parliamentary candidate.

He dedicated his win to the late MP, Dr John Kumah and promised to be a good representative for the people of Ejisu, if voted as MP.

This primary was held ahead of the by-election at Ejisu, which the largest opposition party, the National Democratic Congress (NDC) is likely not to compete.

Cynthia Morrison Loses Parliamentary Bid

A former Gender, Children and Social Protection Minister, Cynthia Morrison, has lost her bid to return to Parliament, after losing the NPP parliamentary primaries in the Agona West Constituency, held over the weekend on Saturday, April 13.

The defeated MP, had competition from four aspirants – all male, but at the close of poll, the two term MP, lost the contest to one Christopher Arthur.

The former Minister, who was replaced after the 2020 general election, garnered 152, while her main contender, Christopher Arthur, polled 240 to become the Parliamentary Candidate.

Ben Yamoah, polled 221, Yawson Otoo, also had 168 and Joseph Afrankwa, garnered 155 votes.

The Agona West constituency NPP primary in the Central Region, had delayed just like a few others after the party organized a major primary for the various constituencies across the country in January 2024.



Related Posts