Bawumia’s Campaign Team Out

…Kwabena Agyapong, Awuku, Karbo, Boadu Others Featured

The General Secretary of the governing New Patriotic Party (NPP), Justin Frempong Kodua, has officially unveiled members of the Campaign Coordinating Team for the party and its flagbearer, Dr Mahamudu Bawumia, to steer the affairs of the crucial 2024 elections.

The announcement of the team, follows a crunch meeting by the National Executive Committee (NEC) at the Alisa Hotel in Accra yesterday, where the highest decision-making body, approved names of individuals presented by the flagbearer to spearhead the campaign at various departments.

Campaign chairman

Interestingly the flagbearer himself, Dr Bawumia, will chair the campaign, while his running mate, who is yet to be named, will serve as the vice chairman.


From the list, veteran legislator and MP for Okere constituency, Daniel Kwaku Botwe, is the Chairman and will be deputized by two vice chairpersons, namely; Mr Fred Oware– the former Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of Bui Power Authority and the Mr Nana Akomea, the current Managing Director (MD) of Intercity State Transport Company (STC).

Advisory committee

The advisory committee is made up of former president, John Agyekum Kufuor, President Nana Akufo-Addo, former national chairman, Freddie Blay, veteran journalist, Elizabeth Ohene, Joyce Aryee and Chief of Staff, Frema Osei-Opare.

Campaign managers

A former MP for the Suhum constituency, Fredrick Opare Ansah, also leads as Campaign Manager with three deputies.

The boss of the Danquah Institute (DI), Dr Antoinette Tsebu Darko, will serve as deputy in charge of research and administration.

Deputy Campaign Manager for Parliamentary Campaign is, Osei Bonsu Amoah alias OB Amoah, outgoing MP for Akwapim South Constituency, while deputy campaigner in charge of presidential campaign is, Dr Ibrahim Anyas.

Former national chairman of the NPP, Mr Peter Mac Manu, will be in charge of Electoral Affairs Committee.

There are also national executives and regional chairpersons, who were included in the Campaign Coordinating Committee to play various roles.

Senior Aides

Others are the Senior Aides who will be moving with the flagbearer and providing him assistance include; former General Secretary; Kwabena Agyei Ayapong, the current CEO of Bui Power Authority, Kofi Dzamesi, ex- General Secretary, John Boadu, Dr Sussana Alu, Salifu Said, Sammi Awuku, Anthony Karbo, Dr Kwasi Nyame Baafi and Mohammed Nii Adjei Sowah.

Mr Joseph Cudjoe, the MP for Effia Constituency in the Western Region, who was recently defeated at the party’s parliamentary primary, will serve as the coordinator for identifiable groups.

Territorial Coordinators

MP for Awutu Senya East and Minister for Fisheries and Aquaculture, Mavis Hawa Koomson, will head the Coastal Campaign, while the Middle Belt will be led by MP for Effuduase/Asokore constituency, Dr Ayew Afriyie.

The Northern Zone Campaign, will be coordinated by the Minister for Defence, Dominc Nitiwul.


Dr Gideon Boako, the Economic adviser to the Vice President, who is also the aspiring MP for Tano North, will play his usual role as the Spokesperson for the flagbearer.

Director for Campaign Communications, will also be headed by presidential staffer, Dennis Edwin Miracles Aboagye.

The former Akuapem North MCE, will be assisted by Yaw Adomako Baafi, a Technical Advisor at the Office of the Vice President, Akbar Yussif Rohullah Khomeini and George Krobea Kwabena Asante, who will be responsible for social media coordinator.

Dr Isaac Owusu Mensah, is in charge of research while Finance and Fundraising is one Dr. Mutaka Alolo, A Technical and Economic Advisor at the Office of the Vice President.


For legal matters, lawyer Frank Davis, will be in charge of that Committee, while Edward Boateng, will be Diplomatic Liaison.

200, 000 other members

“Let me state that this not just the total list as stated by our flagbearer, every polling station executive, every electoral area coordinator, every constituency officer, every regional officer, every national officer are part of the coordinator campaign so let us take note,” Mr Kodua said.

He explained “So, it is not just these names I have mentioned who are going to run the campaign, we have all these people over 200, 000 party executives who are going to be part of the campaign alongside various volunteer groups and people who believe that NPP is the best party to govern the country come December 7”.

In a related development, Dennis Aboakye, has indicated shortly after the names were announced that manifesto for the campaign, will be ready in the next two to three months.

Meanwhile, as reported by The Anchor last Thursday, the Majority caucus in Parliament is set to make changes in its leadership days after the executive arm of government did its major and final reshuffle. The current Majority Leader Osei Kyei Mensah Bonsu, will be replaced by his deputy Alex Afenyo Markin.

The Effutu MP, will be deputized by the current Chief Whip, Frank Annoh Dompreh. Tolon MP, Habib Iddrisu, who is a deputy chief whip will now take the Chief Whip position.

He will be assisted by MP for Kwadaso, Patricia Appiagyei, as 1st Deputy Whip and Alex Tetteh Djornobuah, as 2nd Deputy Whip.

Outgoing Majority Leader and MP for Suame, who is not seeking reelection, but was speculated to be heading to the Foreign Affairs Ministry, is allegedly penciled down for the Chairman of Manifesto Committee for the NPP.


Related Posts