Tarkwa-Nsuaem Tops W/R Votes For Bawumia

…Delivers 72.87%

The Tarkwa-Nsuaem constituency in the Western Region emerged top as the constituency that produced the highest number of votes, in terms of percentage, for Dr.Mahamudu Bawumia to clinch victory in the New Patriotic Party (NPP) flagbearer contest held over the weekend.

This paper’s analysis revealed that, out of the 17 constituencies in the region, the Tarkwa-Nsuaem constituency alone delivered 862 votes for Dr. Bawumia, representing 72.87%, while his closest contender, Kennedy Ohene Agyapong, the Member of Parliament (MP) for Assin Central, garnered 316 votes, representing 26.71%, out of the 1,189 valid votes cast.

The impressive performance by the delegates placed the constituency as the overall best in the entire region to have delivered massively for the vice president, beating competition from 16 other constituencies.

The feat, The Anchor gathered, was largely due to the intensive work done by the Member of Parliament (MP), George Mireku Duker, together with his constituency executives, at the last hour to the primary.

This paper is informed about how the MP was passionate about the victory of Dr. Bawumia and was personally involved in mobilizing the delegates just to ensure the constituency delivers massively for the vice president.

There were several activities, including a planned mini vigil, dubbed “Victory Candle Night,” for Dr. Bawumia on November 2, two days to the election, just to energize the grassroots ahead of the D-day.

The constituencies in the Western Region are Shama, Amenfi West, Amenfi Central, Jomoro, Mpohor, Ahanta West, Essikado – Ketan, Takoradi, Sekondi, Ellembelle, Prestea – Huni Valley, Wassa East, Kwesimintsim, Evalue-Ajomoro-Gwira, Amenfi East and Tarkwa Nsuaem.

Many believe the results from the 16 regions over the weekend confirm the true loyalists of the vice president, giving the internal wrangling that characterized the events leading to the election.


In the Greater Accra Region, the Deputy Minister of Health and Member of Parliament for Weija Gbawe constituency, Madam Tina Mensah, says she is disappointed in her constituents for not voting for Dr.Mahamudu Bawumia.

After the declaration of results, Mr. Kennedy Ohene Agyapong emerged the winner with a total of 672 votes.

His main contender, Dr.Mahamudu Bawumia, polled a total of 434. votes. Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto managed two votes, while Dr. Francis Addai-Nimo had no vote.

But, according to the MP, she felt let down by her constituents.

Dr.Bawumia won 14 out of the 16 regions to emerge the winner of the contest with his closest contender, Mr. Agyapong, winning in only two regions.

The regions that were won by Dr.Bawumia were the Ahafo, Ashanti, Bono, Bono East, Eastern, Greater Accra, North East, Northern, Oti, Savannah, Upper East, Upper West, Western and Western North, while Mr. Agyapong defeated the vice-president in the Central and Volta regions.

Dr.Bawumia, a native of Walewale in the North East Region, polled 3,444 votes, as against 23 votes obtained by Mr. Agyapong in that region, while the latter, who is the MP for Assin Central, in the Central Region, also won with 10, 828 votes with the vice-president securing 6,159 votes in that region.

The Greater Accra Region, which also had a lot of government officials as delegates, saw the vice-president winning that region with 19,002 as against 17,282 votes obtained by Mr. Agyapong, which translated into a margin of 1,720 votes.

Many were those who expected the vice-president to win the Greater Accra Region with a wider margin, but it turned out to be a margin of 1,720 votes.

Another feat chalked up by Mr. Agyapong was also winning the Volta Region with 5,850 votes as against the 4,984 obtained by Dr.Bawumia, which is a margin of 866 votes.

The other contestants in the race, Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto and Francis Addai-Nimo, two and zero votes respectively in that constituency.

Related Posts