Perceived Anti-Mahama Men Thrashed ‘Woto-woto’

The just-ended opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC’s) 10th National Delegates’ Congress, held at the Accra Sports Stadium, has recorded some shocking outcomes, with certain bigwigs perceived not to be loyalists of former President John Mahama losing massively by wide margins.

The election, which was keenly fought, saw the incumbent chairman, Samuel Ofosu Ampofo; the party’s Director of Elections, Elvis Afriyie- Ankrah; the deputy national organizer, Chief Biney and the former Ashanti Regional Secretary, Kwame Zu, as well as many others, floored in their respective contests, leaving many stunned at the turn of events.

This however did not come as any surprise to party insiders who closely followed the acrimonious campaigns by some of the contestants.

Sources within the party’s hierarchy told The Anchor that the defeat by the likes of Mr. Ofosu Ampofo and Kwame Zu, among the host of others, was largely due to flying allegations that they contributed to the party’s downfall in the 2020 general elections.

Prior to the election, Asiedu Nketiah stated that the autocratic leadership of Chairman Ofosu Ampofo and some aliens in the party, who are in bed with the ruling party, caused the party to suffer another humiliating defeat in the 2020 elections, as they could not employ a competent IT Team to collate the party results.

Particularly, he accused his contender, Mr. Ofosu Ampofo, of being anti-Mahama because he [Ofosu Ampofo] challenged Mr. Mahama’s request to the party leadership for appointment of a Director of Elections and the Director of Information Technology (IT).

Many believe that this, among other anti-Mahama tags labeled on some of the contestants, was the cause of their embarrassing defeat.

Interestingly, the outgoing national chairman, who was the biggest casualty, was heavily ousted by no less a person than his bosom friend of 25 years, and General Secretary, Johnson Asiedu Nketiah, after an intense campaign that heralded their contest.

General Mosquito, as the general secretary is affectionately called, beat the incumbent with 5,569 out of 8,553 valid votes cast, representing 65.17 percent. Mr. Ofosu Ampofo, on the other hand, garnered some 2,892 votes to come second.

A former Deputy Ashanti Regional Minister, Samuel Yaw Adusei, polled 52 votes to come third, while a former Greater Accra Regional Minister, Nii Armah Ashietey, polled a paltry 38 votes, representing 0.44 percent, to come last.

The Saturday, December 17 congress, themed, ‘Rallying for Victory 2024,’ saw the likes of former deputy finance minister, Fifi Fiavi Kwetey, Joseph Yarmin, Kobby Barlon, Sherry Ayittey, Sofo Azoka and others also emerging victorious, as they were declared winners by the Electoral Commission (EC) early Sunday morning.

The congress assembled 63 candidates who contested for 11 positions with about 8,100 out of 9,500 delegates participating.

Last Saturday’s election was an improvement upon the party’s Women and Youth Organizers contest, staged at the University of Cape Coast, a week ago, where some thugs marred the beauty of the exercise.

The Police have since released photographs of some 16, all male thugs, said to be behind the confusion that rocked the election.

In the General Secretary contest, a former Member of Parliament (MP) for the Ketu South constituency and former Minister, Fifi Kwetey, beat two other contenders, Dr. Peter Boamah Otukonor and Elvis Afriyie- with 4,543 votes.

Dr. Otukonor and Mr. Afriyie Ankrah, a onetime Youth and Sports Minister, polled 2595 and 1408 respectively.

Barbara Serwaa Asamoah, who was seeking reelection, was retained as a Deputy General Secretary with some 3,834 votes, together with one Gbande Foyo Mustapha, who secured 1,861 votes.

Others in that contest, like a former Ashanti Regional Secretary, Kwame Zu, who was allegedly indicted in a bribery committee by the elders of the party in the region, garnered 1,717, while Catherine Deynu, Francis Lanme Guribe, Evans Amoo and Bradi Paul, Opata secured 652, 324, 83 and 62 respectively.

A former Deputy Youth and Sports Minister and a former Deputy Minister for the Ashanti Region, Joseph Yammin, beat the incumbent, Joshua Hamidu Akamba, with 3,730 votes in the National Organizer contest. The incumbent secured 2,035.

Seven aspirants were vying for that singular slot with the likes of Henry Osei Akoto, Mahdi Mohammed Gibiril, a former Youth Organizer Sidi Abubakari, Solomon Yaw Nkansah, Chief Hamilton Biney Nixon, all contesting for the position.

Yammin will be deputized by Kobby Barlon and Elikem Eric Kevin Kwame Kotoko, who garnered 4700 and 1815 respectively.

For the National Communication Officer, the incumbent went unopposed, after his sole contender, Kwasi Godwin, was disqualified during vetting.

Sammy Gyamfi will be assisted by a former Northern Regional communication officer, Malik Basintale, as well as Godwin Ako Gunn, who was retained after they polled 3,388 and 2,630 respectively.

A former deputy communication officer, Anthony Kwaku Boahen, Mahammed Naziru and Adongo Aule Jacob were unsuccessful in their bid. The three polled 1,138, 758 and 614 in that order.

In the Vice Chairmen contest, Awudu Sofo Azorka, Dr. Sherry Ayittey, as well as Abanga Yakubu Alhassan, were elected in that order.

They secured 2,757, 1,820 and 864 votesrespectively. Other contenders were Sherif Abdul-Nasiru, Seth Ofori Ohene, Ahaji Amadu Sorogho, Alhaji Habibu Adramani and Evelyn Enyonam Mensah.

The Zongo Caucus Coordinator contest was won by Mamah Mohammed Cole Younger, who was competed by four others and garnered 2,786 votes.

The other competitors were Abass Zulkarnain Kambari, Alhaji Babanlame Abu Sadat, Abdul-Aziz Mohammed and Yakubu Mahmud Mudi.

National Executive Committee (NEC) members were won by Cecilia N Asaga, who polled 845, Victoria Kumah-Mintah, who secured 710, and Ephraim Tan Sackey, who managed to get 506.

The national Women and the Youth Organizer positions were held a week ago in Cape Coast in the Central Region.

The incumbent organizers, Hanna Louisa Bisiue and George Opare Addo, were retained.

Unfortunately, the reelection of Opare Addo is being challenged by his sole contender, Ernest Yaw Brogya Genfi, at a high court.

He was however sworn in at the Accra Sports Stadium, together with the others, despite the injunction by Brogya and two others.

Source: Anchorghana

Related Posts