Tarkwa MP Pledges More Support For TARSCO

The Member of Parliament (MP) for the Tarkwa-Nsuem Constituency in the Western Region has promised the management, staff and old students of Tarkwa Senior High School (TARSCO) his commitment to ensure massive development and transformation of the school.

Mr. George Mireku Duker said, with the support of government, the mining town-based school, which has produced eminent citizens who are serving in strategic positions in society, will be given the needed attention for its growth.

At the 60th anniversary celebration of the school on Saturday, November 26, 2022, the MP, who doubles as Deputy Minister of Lands and Natural Resources, commended the milestone achieved by the school in properly developing students who are making giant strides in both the private and public sectors of the country.

He listed some notable developmental projects implemented, through a collaboration of his office and government, such as the construction of the 600-capacity dormitory block, a six-unit classroom block, the provision of a school bus and the construction of the school’s inner-campus roads.

Mr. Duker charged the leadership of the school to be relentless in their effort to continue imbibing in students the discipline that is required to excel in their academics while embracing the trends in technological advancements in teaching and learning.

As part of his pledge to make TARSCO one of the best Senior High Schools (SHS) in Ghana, the MP made a personal donation of GH₵20,000 to support the school’s participation in next year’s edition of the National Science & Maths Quiz (NSMQ) competition.

Later in the evening, he held a dinner with the staff and old students of the school to make merry on their diamond jubilee celebration.

TARSCO’s diamond Jubilee is worth celebrating as the school considers itself victorious as a second-cycle institution anchored on good principles.

Prominent individuals produced by the school include Major General Nicholas Peter Andoh, Chief of Staff at the General Headquarters, Ghana Armed Forces (GAF); Mr. Kwasi Amoako Atta, Minister of Roads and Highways (MP); Dr. Toni Aubynn, former Chief Executive Officer of Minerals Commission and Ghana Chamber of Mines, and Mrs. Gifty Ampofo Twum, Deputy Minister of Education (MP).

Others are Mr. Kofi Duku Arthur, retired Commissioner of Police, former Ashanti Regional Commander, COP(retd) Kwasi Mensah Duku; Mr. Moses Ramsey Arthur, former Managing Director of OSA Transport Services; Mr. J. B. Opoku-Acheampong, former Judicial Secretary; Ms Eva Mends, Technical Director, Ministry of Finance; Professor Andrews Adjei, Immunology Department of the University of Ghana Medical School; Opoku Nti of Ghana Black Stars and Asante Kotoko fame; Fiifi Boafo, Ghana Cocoa Board; Seth Kwame Dzokoto (“Komean or Edziban a”) and Professor Stephen Sobotie, former Vice-Chancellor of University of Education, Kumasi Campus.

The rest are Mr. Israel Ackah, lawyer and Chief Executive of Empire African Institute; Lawyer Stephen Sah, Graphic Communications Group Limited; Lt. Colonel John Eshun, Ambassador Biyira Idrissu, Dr. Isaac Kwesi Biney, University of Ghana; Professor Samuel Ndur and M. E. K. Badai, UMaT, Mrs. Hannah Owusu-Koranteng, President of TARPSA and Associate Executive Director of WACAM; Rev. Dr. Francis Ghunn, Assemblies of God (Tarkwa); Rev. Dr. Cudjoe, ICGC; Dr. Donkor, St. Mina Hospital, Ashaiman; Peter Mensah, Wallace Investment Group; Professor Henry Mensah, KNUST, and Mr. Stanley Tanor, a businessman among others.

Source: Anchorghana

Related Posts