5 Battle Over Napo’s ‘Big Shoes’ Left Behind

A fierce battle, has ensued over the big shoes left behind by the outgoing Member of Parliament (MP) for Manhyia South Constituency, Dr Mathew Opoku Prempeh, who until last week was the party’s parliamentary candidate for the 2024 December poll.

But The Anchor is reliably informed, Dr Opoku Prempeh, affectionately called ‘Napo’ has sternly decided not to meddle in the affairs of the Constituency, instead allow the delegates to choose a suitable replacement for him after a 20-year dutiful service.

So far, over six individuals, including his biological brother, are bracing up themselves for a fierce contest to succeed the dentist.

They include, Nana Owusu Afriyie Prempeh, who is constituency treasurer and younger brother of the vice-presidential candidate, a Deputy Chief Executive at the Petroleum Hub Development Corporation, Nana Ama Timah, legal practitioner, Nana Agyei Baffour Awuah and Akwasi Coker Gyambibi, also said to be a relative of the MP.

The rest are, Kingsley Bonsu Kyeretwie, the Constituency Second Vice Chairman and one Kwabena Addo Amankwah, have all declared their intentions and actively engaging delegates to garner their support.

There are expectations that, more may join in the contest which is slated for this coming Sunday, July 14.

The seat became vacant, after the Energy Minister, was selected by the New Patriotic Party (NPP) flagbearer Dr Mahamudu, as his Running-Mate.

The MP and minister, was confirmed by the flagbearer and the National Executive Committee of the party last Thursday, July 4, at the Alisa Hotel in Accra.

He is expected to be outdoored tomorrow Tuesday in Kumasi in the Ashanti regional capital, the stronghold of the NPP.

Having occupied the seat since 2009, the 56-year-old, is making way for a new face to represent the people of the Manhyia South constituency in the 9th parliament from January 2025, while himself, together with Dr Bawumia pursue their dream to break the ‘8’.

Due to the limited time, candidates are said to have begun meeting with delegates behind closed doors, seeking support for their bids to represent them in the August House.

The Anchor’s monitoring of activities in the royal constituency, which houses the famous Manhyia Palace, the seat of the Asantehene, show posters of the candidates, have been littered all over the area announcing their intention.

The NPP last week Friday approved the timeline for the contest announcing that picking of nomination forms will begin today Monday July 8, 2024. Submission of nomination forms is slated for the following day Tuesday July 9.

According to the general secretary, Justin Frimpong Kodua, the actual election will be on July 14. Candidates are to pay non-refundable application fee of GH₵3, 000 in bankers draft payable to the National Headquarters in Accra.

The candidates are also expected to pay a non-refundable filing fee of GH₵35, 000 in bankers draft to complete the full compliance of the process for the contest on Sunday.

The party has also made provision for women, the youth and Persons With Disabilities (PWDs). These groups of people are being asked to pay 50% of the actual fee for nomination.

They are also asked to pay reduced filing fee of GH₵17.500. The party puts the age of youth from 18-40 years.

“An aspiring parliamentary candidate (APC) shall procure nominations forms after the payment of a non-refundable application fee of GH₵3,000 in bankers draft in favour of the NPP national headquarters, Accra.

“To successfully file the nomination, an APC shall pay a non-refundable filing fee of gh35, 000 in bankers draft in favour of the NPP, Headquarters, Accra.

This means, they will be required to pay a non-refundable filing fee of GH₵17, 500. To ensure clarity, we define a youth as an individual between the ages of 18 and 40,” the general secretary said in a statement.

The NPP also indicated that no aspirant should face impediments when seeking to purchase the nomination forms as it often happens in parliamentary elections in internal political party elections.

The Elections Committee (EC) designated for overseeing the electoral process comprises seven key personnel, including Chairperson Danquah Smith Butey, Vice Chairman and regional chairman of the NPP Bernard Antwi Boasiako aka Wontumi, and Secretary Evans Nimako, among others.

The last time there was a by-election was in May at Ejisu constituency in the Ashanti Region after the shocking demise of the MP and Deputy Minister for Finance John Kumah. The constituency is now being represented in Parliament by Kwabena Boateng.


Related Posts