Gov’t converts Colleges of Education to degree awarding institutions

The Ministry of Education has converted all public Colleges of Education into four-year bachelor of education degree-awarding institutions.

According to the ministry, the conversion forms part of reform strategies for education in the country.

Public Relations Officer of the Ministry of Education, Kwesi Kwarteng says the Ministry has embarked on the construction of three-storey 300-bed capacity hostel blocks in 45 colleges of education across the country to support the programme.

“As part of the government’s education reforms which are being championed by the Ministry of Education, all public Colleges of Education have been converted into four-year bachelor of education degree-awarding institutions. Consequently, the government has embarked on the construction of a three-storey hostel building each in 45 colleges to pave way for expansion and increasing enrollment.”

In 2008, the government announced that all Colleges of Education will be upgraded to University Colleges.

Additionally, President Akufo-Addo indicated that a four-year Bachelor of Education (B.Ed) degree will be introduced in the University Colleges.

“These Colleges will, initially, be affiliated with the University of Cape Coast, and, subsequently, to other public universities. This means that, eventually, a first degree will be the minimum requirement for teaching at any level of our education system”, he said.

Currently, many teachers who complete the three-year Diploma in Basic Education (DBE) at the Colleges of Education go on, later, to do a two-year top-up first degree, by distance learning, at the University of Cape Coast.

This means that, in addition to the extra amount of money spent on getting a degree, it takes trainee teachers not less than five years to get a degree.

source: citinewsonline

Related Posts